The California Bond of Insurance Adjuster is required by the California Department of Insurance for any entity wishing to obtain a license for this occupation.
According to the California Insurance Code, an insurance adjuster is a person who engages in the business of making an investigation for the purpose of obtaining information in the course of adjusting or participating in the disposal of any claim in connection with a policy of insurance or engages in soliciting insurance adjustment business.
Please note there is a separate license and bond for a California Public Insurance Adjuster.
What are the requirements in order to get an Insurance Adjuster License in the state of California?
In order to obtain an Insurance Adjuster License in California (whether a business entity or individual), the following requirements must be met:
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must have two years certified experience in insurance adjusting field
- 2,000 hours of compensated time in the adjusting field is equal to one year of experience
- Must complete the continuing education requirement (pursuant to Section 14090.1 of the California Insurance Code) of 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics during each two year license term for a California resident independent insurance adjusters
- The qualified manager must pass a qualifying license examination (with a $72 exam fee)
- File a license application with the California Department of Insurance (with a $283 application fee for each qualified manager)
- File a Branch Office Certificate if operating in a location other than the principal office listed on the application (with a $47 certificate fee)
- Complete fingerprint impressions
- File a $2,000 California Bond of Insurance Adjuster with the CA Department of Insurance
- Please note this bond is not insurance. This bond exists so that anyone injured by the willful, malicious, or wrongful act of the bond holder may make a claim on this bond. He or she can do this to recover damages suffered by reason of such willful, malicious, or wrongful conduct.
California Insurance Adjuster Licenses are issued for 2 year terms and must be renewed with a $283 filing fee to maintain the license.
For more information about licensing please visit the California Department of Insurance website.
Where can I get a California Bond of Insurance Adjuster?
Surety1 can issue this bond right away. All we need is a completed online application! This application is free and only takes a few minutes to fill out. Within one business day of your submission, one of our licensed agents will contact you with a no-obligation quote for the price to obtain the bond (the “premium”). Once any necessary paperwork is signed and the payment is remitted, we will ship your California Bond of Insurance Adjuster via USPS Priority Mail, with overnight shipping options also available!
Surety Solutions Insurance Services, Inc. (Suerty1) has been writing bonds in California since 2003. We work with over a dozen “A” rated surety markets to ensure you get the lowest quote possible for you bond. We’re licensed in all 50 states and maintain an A+ rating by the Better Business Bureau for our quick and reliable service.