The Virginia Driver Training School Bond is required by the DMV Commercial Licensing Division. The bond is required to be in the amount of $5,000 for class B schools. The bond states that the bondholder will follow all provisions of Chapter 17, Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia or of the driving training school regulations.
What additional requirements must be satisfied?
Before applying, the applicant must first review the legislation for driver training schools. They must also call the department to ensure that the name of their school is approved. A local business license must also be obtained. Upon application, the following must be submitted:
- A Class B School License Application (DTS 33B)
- A Surety Bond Affidavit and Acknowledgement of Surety (DTS 22) for a surety bond in the amount of $5,000
- A copy of the customer contract/agreement form
- A Vehicle Insurance Certification (DTS 5) for each vehicle. Vehicles cannot be more than 9 model years old and must be equipped with safety equipment that meets regulatory safety requirements.
- Proof of a local business license
- A national criminal history record. Information about how to apply for a national criminal history record is at the bottom of this page.
- The initial payment of an annual fee of $100.00
How do I obtain a Virginia Driver Training School Bond?
Complete our easy to navigate online application. Within one business day, one of our licensed agents will contact you with a no-obligation quote for your bond (the “premium”). Once any necessary paperwork is signed and the premium payment is processed, your surety bond will be shipped to you via USPS Priority Mail (overnight shipping options also available).
The surety bond experts at Surety1 are here to help you get bonded quickly and reliably. We work with over a dozen “A” rated surety markets to ensure we find you the lowest rate for your bond. We are also licensed in all 50 states and maintain an A+ rating by the Better Business Bureau.