The Oregon Private Investigator Bond is required by the State of Oregon in the minimum amount of $5,000. The bond states that the bondholder will pay all amounts that may be ordered by the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training against the principal. Negligent, improper work, or breach of contract in performing work can result in claims against your bond.
Who needs an Oregon Private Investigator Bond?
Individuals applying with the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training for a private investigator license must be bonded. Most investigators are bonded for much more than the states minimum.
A private investigator is a person who engages in the business of obtaining or furnishing, solicits or accepts employment to obtain or furnish information.
What are other licensing requirements?
- Completed application
- 1 Fingerprint card
- Provide three Professional letters of reference
- Submit proof of 1500 hours of professional work experience
- Complete two passport quality photographs
- Submit a one-time $69 application fee and the required $550 licensing fee
Once your application packet has been processed, you will be registered to take the PI Proficiency Exam. Minimum passing score on the exam is 86%.
How do I get an Oregon Private Investigator Bond?
Start the process by completing our easy to navigate, free online application form. Next, one of our surety agents will contact you with a no-obligation quote on the bond premium. After that, we’ll have you sign the agreement and pay the premium. Lastly, your Oregon Private Investigator Bond will be mailed to you by USPS Priority Mail. Overnight delivery is also available for an additional fee.
Surety1 has been in the business since 2003. We are licensed in all 50 states and our services have earned an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
Call us toll free at 877-654-2327. We have live surety bond agents available Monday – Friday, 8:00 – 4:30 PST. We’re glad to help.