A Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond is a type of surety bond required by the Michigan Department of State as part of the required certification to operate a driver education business. The bond amount varies (scroll down) and the cost of the surety bond is usually between 1% and 3% of the bond amount. Surety1 will shop its many markets to procure the right price at the right terms.

How to Get a Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond

At Surety1.com we make it easy to obtain this surety bond. Our simple, three step process is:

  1. Complete the easy to navigate and secure online application1
  2. Review the free, no obligation quote from one of Surety1’s professional surety bond agents, usually within one business day.
  3. Sign some paperwork and pay the bond premium

Once these steps have been completed, the Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond will be shipped to the bond applicant.
1 -The name of the applicant on the surety bond application must match exactly the full legal business name of applicant for the school certification. 

Surety1.com is a service of AssuredPartners one of the largest and fastest growing insurance agencies in the nation. Representing over a dozen surety bond companies, Surety1.com is the premier online provider of surety bonds nationwide since 2003.

About Surety1.com
Contact Surety1

Surety Bond Amount

The bond amount depends on the number of students enrolled per year and if it includes truck driving education:

Michigan Driver Education Provider Surety Bond

Click to Access Surety Bond Form

  • Teen/Adult Classifications with
    • 999 or fewer students in a calendar year – $20,000 surety bond.
    • 1000 or more students in a calendar year – $40,000 surety bond.
  • Teen/Adult & Truck Classifications
    • 999 or fewer students in a calendar year – $70,000 surety bond.
    • 1000 or more students in a calendar year – $90,000 surety bond.
  • Truck Classification only
    • $50,000 surety bond.

Surety1 recommends confirming the necessary bond amount with the department of state prior to applying for the Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond.

How to Get the Required Certification

To obtain a Michigan Driver Education Provider certification, you’ll need to follow these steps:

  1. Meet Eligibility Requirements: Ensure your business operates legally in Michigan and doesn’t have any history of driver education certificate suspensions or revocations.
  2. Complete Application: Obtain the “DES-P01 Provider Certification Application” form from the Michigan Department of State’s website https://www.michigan.gov/sos/-/media/Project/Websites/sos/03preston/DESP01_Provider_Certification_Application.pdf.
  3. Background Check: Schedule a Live Scan Fingerprint Background Check with an approved Michigan State Police vendor and submit the request form along with your application.
  4. Submit Application and Fees: There’s a non-refundable processing fee associated with the application. The amount depends on your program offerings:
    • Adult &/or Teen Driver Education: $225
    • Truck Driver Education (additional to Teen/Adult fee): $360 Submit the application package with the fee online through the Secretary of State’s e-Services or by mail.
  5. Provide the required Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond
    • Apply for the bond here.

Here are some helpful resources for the application process:

Remember, this information focuses on obtaining the provider certification. Instructors working for your school will need to obtain their own Driver Education Instructor certificates.

The information provided above is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.  Do not rely solely on the information presented here as a substitute for professional legal counsel.

How to Get Your Michigan Driver Education Provider Bond

  1. Complete an online application. It’s free and no-obligation.
  2. One of our surety experts will contact you with a firm quote and an agreement to sign.
  3. Provide payment and your signed agreement, and then you will receive your Surety Bond!

If you have any questions, please call us at 877-654-2327.

How to Get Bonded

1. Apply Online
Using our Free & Secure Application
2. Get Your Free Quote
Applications are No-Obligation
3. Get Your Bond
Most Bonds are Approved in 1-2 Business Days

Surety Bond Experts

Surety1 was founded in 2003 and helps thousands of clients find the best prices on their surety bonds. We take pride in our work so that we can give you great service. Learn more about Surety1.

0 Happy Customers
Since 2003