The Illinois Mileage Tax Bond, also known as the Surety Bond for Second Division Motor Vehicles is required by the Illinois Secretary of State, Vehicle Services Department, for businesses that are registering for either the International Registration Plan (IRP) or the Fiscal plan The minimum amount of the Illinois Surety Bond for Second Division Motor Vehicles is $500 and the cost including fees is around $150.00. Here is a link to the Illinois Secretary of State website where you can download the bond form: https://www.ilsos.gov/publications/pdf_publications/cft_it12.pdf
How to get a Illinois Mileage Tax Bond
At Surety1.com we make it easy to obtain this surety bond. Our simple, three step process is:
- Complete the easy to navigate and secure online application. 1
- Review the free, no obligation quote from one of Surety1’s professional surety bond agents, usually within one business day.
- Sign some paperwork and pay the bond premium
Once these steps have been completed, the Illinois Mileage Tax Surety Bond will be shipped to the bond applicant.
1 -The name of the applicant on the surety bond application must match exactly the full legal business name of applicant for the license.
Surety1.com is a service of AssuredPartners one of the largest and fastest growing insurance agencies in the nation. Representing over a dozen surety bond companies, Surety1.com is the premier online provider of surety bonds nationwide since 2003.
What are Second Division Vehicles?
According to the Illinois Rules of the Road booklet, a second division vehicle is a vehicle that is:
- designed to carry more than 10 persons
- designed or used for living quarters
- designed for pulling or carrying a freight or cargo
- a first division vehicle remodeled for use as a second division vehicle
- a first division vehicle used and registered as a school bus
What is the purpose of an Illinois Mileage Tax Bond?
This surety bond is needed for Mileage Weight Tax Registration. This is an alternative type of registration at a reduced fee for second division vehicles which are specifically designed for low or limited mileage. Take note that the filing must be done by July 10 every year. All applicants must make sure that their vehicles are equipped with working odometers or trailers with hubometers.
For first time applicants, they will need to report the beginning mileage for any vehicle registered with Mileage Weight Tax. Through Mileage Tax Registration, the fees you will pay will depend on the weight of the vehicle and the number of miles operated. You can refer to this table for the fee.