Motor vehicle dealers are required to post a Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond as part of the process to license the dealership. The amount of the bond depends on what type of vehicles are to be sold, the amount of vehicles you plan to sell, and other factors. Read our Car Dealer License Guide to learn more about how to get your dealership licensed and bonded.
The price for the bond, also known as the bond premium, is only a small fraction of the bond amount.
This bond guarantees the principal will abide by all Colorado state laws and regulations outlined in 12-6-111(1) and 12-6-512(1) of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
Since this bond is valid on a year-to-year basis, the surety can cancel the bond at any time by filing a 45 days’ written notice of cancellation to the Dealer and the Director of the Department of Revenue. A 10 days’ written notice may also be filed if the premium is not paid by the principal. These rules are required by the obligee, not the surety company.
The applicant should verify the bond amount with the obligee before applying for the bond to ensure the bond amount is correct.
Surety1 is not directly involved with the licensing process, but we’ve compiled this information which may helpful for you.
State licensing fees and requirements:
All licensing fees are required by the obligee, not the surety company.
For additional licensing requirements, visit Colorado’s official page: CO Department of Revenue Dealer/Wholesaler Licensing