The California Guide License Bond is required by the California Department of Fish and Wildlife, in the amount of $1,000. The bond insures the faithful performance of the bondholder, their agents or employees, in fulfilling their responsibilities to clients.
Who needs a California Guide License bond?
The State of California’s Department of Fish and Wildlife defines a guide as any person who is engaged in the business of packing or guiding. For compensation, the guide assists other’s in taking or attempting to take, any bird, mammal, fish, amphibian, or reptile. In addition, a guide is any person who, for profit, transports other persons, their equipment, or both to or from hunting or fishing areas.
The California Code of Regulations requires any such guide to obtain a license prior to operating. The Guide License bond is one of the licensing requirements.
What are other licensing requirements?
- Completed application
- Copies of Identification
- Appropriate filing fee: $229.43 – residents $527.50 – non-residents
Refer to the CA Dept. of Fish and Wildlife website for link to their application and other information.
Where can I get a California Guide License Bond?
At Surety1 you can be assured of the lowest rates as we have partnered with over a dozen A-rated surety markets. We have friendly agents who are willing to answer all your queries and give you only the best service.
First, start the process by completing our easy to navigate, free online application form. Then, after your application has been submitted, one of our surety agents will contact you with a no-obligation quote on the bond premium. After that, once you are ready to move forward, you just need to pay the premium and sign the agreement. Lastly, your bond will be mailed to you by USPS Priority Mail. Overnight delivery is also available for an additional fee.
Surety1 has been in the business since 2003. We are licensed in all 50 states. As a result, our services have earned an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.