The California Disciplinary Contractor’s License Bond is required by the State of California Contractors State License Board. The amount of the California Disciplinary Contractors License Bond is between $15,000 and $150,000. The exact amount is determined by the California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) on a case-by-case basis, depending on the severity of the contractor’s previous violation. Contractors who have been disciplined by the CSLB may be required to purchase a disciplinary bond in order to reinstate their license. The bond is designed to protect consumers from financial harm if the contractor fails to comply with the terms of their disciplinary order.
The California Contractors State License Board (CLSB) requires that if a license has been revoked or suspended for a violation of contractors license law, the contractor must file a disciplinary bond. The California Disciplinary Contractors License Bond is required to reinstate, reissue or reapply for a new license. However, only some suspensions require the filing of this bond.
If appropriate, CSLB will attempt to mediate and help achieve a resolution without disciplinary action. However, complaints involving serious violations of Contractors’ State License Law, like, poor workmanship, abandonment, misuse of funds, failure to obtain a building permit, or failure to maintain workers’ compensation for employees, can result in formal disciplinary action, even if the licensee does not have a history of complaints.
The bond must be on file with Contractors State License Board for at least two years.
Disciplinary bonds are subject to the following requirements:
- The bond must be filed in addition to, and cannot take the place of or be combined with, any other bonds required to maintain an active contractor’s license;
- The Registrar determines the bond amount, which is based on the seriousness of the violation or violations. The amount may not be less than $15,000, nor greater than ten times the amount of the contractor’s bond.
- The bond must remain current and on file for at least two years. In some cases, a longer filing period may be required.
- The firm’s license must remain active and current while the disciplinary bond is on file.
How to Obtain a Disciplinary Contractor’s License Bond?
At Surety1.com we make it easy to obtain this surety bond. Our simple, three step process is:
- Complete the easy to navigate and secure online application. 1
- Review the free, no obligation quote from one of Surety1’s professional surety bond agents, usually within one business day.2
- Sign some paperwork and pay the bond premium
Once these steps have been completed, the Disciplinary Contractors License Bond will either be filed electronically with the CSLB or shipped to the applicant. this depends on which market Surertty1 is able to secure the best price and underwriting requirements.
1-The name of the applicant on the surety bond application must match exactly the full legal business name of applicant for the license.
2-Subject to underwriter approval, based on aggregate surety bond exposure, additional underwriting information may be required.
Surety1.com is a service of AssuredPartners one of the largest and fastest growing insurance agencies in the nation. Representing over a dozen surety bond companies, Surety1.com is the premier online provider of surety bonds nationwide since 2003.